navigation bar
  New Jersey Division of Fish & Wildlife New Jersey Division of Fish & Wildlife
njdep home f&w home

2011 Deer Classic Winners

The Garden State Deer Classic is an annual event showcasing hunter entries in New Jersey’s Outstanding White-tailed Deer Program, which was initiated by the Division of Fish and Wildlife in 1964.

On Sunday, January 16, 2011 at the 22nd Annual Garden State Deer Classic, a large crowd was on hand for the awards program which honors the top three entries in each category for deer harvested during the 2009-2010 hunting seasons.

The 2011 Deer Classic was sponsored by the Division of Fish and Wildlife (DFW), the New Jersey State Federation of Sportsmen’s Clubs (NJSFSC), United Bowhunters of New Jersey (UBNJ), the New Jersey Outdoor Alliance Conservation Foundation and the Garden State Outdoor Sportsmen's Show.

Winners of the 2011 Deer Classic
Click to enlarge

Along with the winners present at the Classic, appearing in the photos on this page are, left to right: Anthony Mauro of the NJOA Conservation Foundation, Phil Habrukowich of the UBNJ, Ed Cuneo, President of the NJSFSC, and DFW Director Dave Chanda.

For the complete list and actual scores, see the list of winners below. Click on images to enlarge.

135 Pound Doe Club - Archery
135 lb. Doe Club Winner - Bow
Douglas Wright, 1st Place
135 Pound Doe Club - Muzzleloader
135 lb. Doe Club Winner - Muzzleloader
Michael Gonzalez, 1st Place
200 Pound Buck Club - Archery
200 lb. Club Winners - Bow
Fred Wistuba, Jr., 3rdPlace
Robert Skinner, 1st Place
200 Pound Buck Club - Shotgun
200 lb. Club Winners - Bow
Bryan Soltes, 1st Place
Typical Archery
Winners - Typical Archery
Jared M. Cramer, 3rd Place
Brian A. Baum, Sr., 2nd Place
Jeffrey Melillo, 1st Place (Director Chanda with deer)
Non-Typical Archery
Winner - Non-Typical Archery
Frank Kocsis, 2nd Place
Typical Crossbow
Winner - Typical Crossbow
Guy Russo, 3rd Place (Phil Habrukowich with deer)
Douglas J. Kurman, Sr., 2nd Place
Philip J. Richard, 1st Place
Non-Typical Crossbow
Winner - Non-Typical Crossbow
Gary Cameron, 1st Place
Typical Shotgun
Winners - Typical Shotgun
Robert Staudt, Jr., 1st Place
Wayne Queen, 2nd Place
Keith J. Gadsby, 3rd Place
Non-Typical Shotgun
Winners - Typical Shotgun
Frank Turcotte, 1st Place
Joe Chomko, 3rd Place
Jeff N. Trull, 2nd Place
Typical Muzzleloader
Winners - Typical Muzzleloader
Jim Kelly, 1st Place
Theodore R. Brewer, 2nd Place
Non-Typical Muzzleloader
Winners - Non-Typical Muzzleloader
Leo Stoehr, Jr., 2nd Place
Donald L. Fiocchi, 3rd Place (Phil Habrukowich with deer)
Charles Sutton, III, 1st Place

Click on the name of the winner below to open an image of the winning deer as displayed at the Deer Classic. All Deer Classic photos courtesy of R. J. Wolven.

Category Place Name/Hometown Weight County Harvested DMZ Date Harvested
135 Pound Doe Club - Archery 1st Douglas Wright
142 lbs. Salem 27 10/12/09
135 Pound Doe Club - Muzzleloader 1st Michael Gonzalez
148 lbs. Warren 7 12/2/09
135 Pound Doe Club - Crossbow 1st Dennis Butler
158 lbs. Salem 27 11/29/09
200 Pound Buck Club - Archery 1st Robert Skinner
215.5 lbs. Somerset 13 10/16/09
2nd Ronald R. Turpin
206 lbs. Cumberland 28 11/13/09
3rd Fred Wistuba, Jr.
202 lbs. Somerset 14 10/10/09
200 Pound Buck Club - Shotgun 1st Bryan Soltes
205 lbs. Morris 8 12/10/09
Category Place Name/Hometown Score County Harvested DMZ Date Harvested
Typical Archery 1st Jeffrey Melillo
West Milford
141 5/8 Morris 36 10/22/09
2nd Brian A. Baum, Sr.
141 1/8 Monmouth 50 10/17/09
3rd Jared M. Cramer
141 0/8 Warren 5 11/11/09
Non-Typical Archery 1st Gerald P. Buckley, Jr.
160 0/8 Hunterdon 12 10/26/09
2nd Frank Kocsis
142 4/8 Hunterdon 10 11/8/09
Typical Crossbow 1st Phillip J. Richard
142 4/8 Somerset 13 11/12/09
2nd Douglas J. Kurman, Sr.
137 3/8 Salem 27 11/4/09
3rd Guy Russo
132 3/8 Hunterdon 12 9/15/09
Non-Typical Crossbow 1st Gary Cameron
Cream Ridge
163 2/8 Ocean 17 10/25/09
Typical Shotgun 1st Robert Staudt, Jr.
154 5/8 Somerset 14 12/11/09
2nd Wayne Queen
153 2/8 Salem 25 12/9/09
3rd Keith J. Gadsby
148 0/8 Mercer 14 12/8/09
Non-Typical Shotgun 1st Frank Turcotte
East Brunswick
186 0/8 Somerset 12 12/10/09
2nd Jeff N. Trull
147 3/8 Salem 27 12/8/09
3rd Joe Chomko
Monmouth Junction
142 2/8 Monmouth 50 12/12/09
Typical Muzzleloader 1st Jim Kelly
Staten Island
149 1/8 Hunterdon 10 12/21/09
2nd Theodore R. Brewer
136 7/8 Burlington 48 11/30/09
3rd Henry Tamagni, III
135 1/8 Salem 28 12/28/09
Non-Typical Muzzleloader 1st Charles Sutton, III
161 2/8 Warren 8 12/8/09
2nd Leo Stoehr, Jr.
Egg Harbor City
153 2/8 Atlantic 26 1/2/10
3rd Donald L. Fiocchi
140 2/8 Cumberland 47 12/1/09
  Adobe Acrobat Some files on this site require adobe acrobat pdf reader to view. download the free pdf reader  
bottom footer contact dep privacy notice legal statement accessibility statement nj home nj home citizen business government services a to z departments dep home

division of fish & wildlife: home | links | contact f&w
department: njdep home | about dep | index by topic | programs/units | dep online
statewide: njhome | citizen | business | government | services A to Z | departments | search

Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-2011
Department of Environmental Protection
P. O. Box 402
Trenton, NJ 08625-0402

Last Updated: January 26, 2011